Our Board of Directors and Advisors

Loretta Neumann

DC Ward 4 resident. Alliance co-founder.  Retired Federal executive. Historic preservationist, former trustee of the Committee of 100 on the Federal City and author of the Committee’s “Call to Action” for the Fort Circle Parks. Co-founder of Historic Takoma, president of Takoma Theatre Conservancy, and past vice president of the DC Preservation League. Has photographed, spoken on and led tours of the Civil War Defenses of Washington and Battle of Fort Stevens for 22 years.

Marvin Tupper Jones

DC Ward 4 resident. Documentary photographer and filmmaker specializing in corporate photography and videography.  His love for his native Hertford County led to him to found Chowan Discovery.  In addition to the Triangle, he has documented communities in the Caribbean, South America and East Africa.

Other Directors

Bryan Cheeseboro, Burtonsville, MD resident. Archives Technician with the National Archives, Civil War historian and reenactor. Bryan grew up a block away from the site of Fort Stevens. Organizes military and civilian reenactors for the annual commemoration of the Battle of Fort Stevens.

Chuck Clusen, Arlington VA resident, retired environmental non-profit organization executive with special expertise in national parks. Worked for National Park Service and has great interest in history, especially the Civil War. 


William (Bill) Connery,  Grew up in Baltimore, MD, “rebel territory” in the Civil War. Degree in history from the University of Maryland. Author of two History Press books: Civil War Northern Virginia 1861 & Mosby’s Raids in Civil War Northern Virginia. Awarded Jefferson Davis Historical Gold Medal from Fairfax Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy for his ‘1861’ book.


Martha (Marty) Jewett,  Registered nurse, worked  in hospitals all over the metro area mostly ICU and ER, head nurse in obstetrics and neonatal nursery at Walter Reed, 30 years an Army Reserve nurse, retiring as a LTC in 2002. Now faith community nurse at Christ Lutheran Church. Has lived near Walter Reed and nursed there for most of her military career.  

Robert Meffert, DC Ward 3 resident near Fort Reno. Retired engineer, for 20 years has annually walked the Civil War Defenses of Washington, surveyed several, and is familiar with their construction, layout, site, situation, and systems function. Has assembled a reference library on fortifications, forts, will château forts, and visited forts in other countries and the National Park Service battlefield sites.

Dwane Starlin, DC Ward 2, is a licensed DC tour guide, historical character interpreter, and professional musician.  He recently co-authored “Images of America: Burleith,” about the DC neighborhood he has lived in since 1999.  Plays the bugle at Fort Stevens commemoration and related events.


Gary Thompson, DC Ward 4 resident west of Rock Creek Park near Fort DeRussy. Lawyer and former Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner (ANC 4G-02). Frequent speaker to schools about the Civil War in DC, has guided tours of Fort DeRussy and Fort Stevens. Reenacts Union Gen. Lew Wallace. 

Patricia Tyson, Silver Spring, MD resident, executive secretary of the Military Road School Preservation Trust, member of FREED, volunteer Civil War re-enactor at Ft. Stevens and docent at the Frederick Douglass House (Cedar Hill) in Washington, D.C.  Coordinator of the Rock Creek Civil War Roundtable.

Linda Crichlow White, DC Ward 4, retired in 2013 from a long career in education, most recently as a school library Media Specialist in Montgomery County, MD.  She is the co-author of "Back There,Then," which chronicles stories of the author’s ancestors from before the Civil War into the 20th century.

Burnell Irby
Vice President

DC Ward 5 resident near Fort Totten. A 27-year teacher in DC Public Schools and current teacher in Prince George’s County near Fort Foote. Studies Civil War history and has made numerous presentations to historical groups. 

Laurel McFarland

Silver Spring, MD resident. Economist and CEO of NASPAA, the global accreditor of graduate schools of public policy. Researched US monetary and fiscal policy in the 1860s, including Civil War financing and internationalization of war debt. Co-led Girl Scout Troop community service project on “Silver Spring during the Civil War.”

Our Advisory Board

Edwin C. Bearss, military historian, author, and popular tour guide of historic battlefields; Chief Historian, National Park Service 1981-94 and currently Chief Historian, Emeritus, one of Smithsonian's "35 Who Made a Difference".


Gordon Berg, retired civil servant doing freelance writing on the Civil War including articles and book reviews, past-President and Vice-President of the Civil War Round Table of the District of Columbia. 

Tersh Boasberg, Alliance co-founder and past President; former Chair, DC Historic Preservation Review Board; Adjunct Professor of Law, Georgetown Law Center; and attorney for preservation groups saving key portions of the battlefields of Second Manassas, First and Second Kearnstown, and Brandy Station. 

Susan ClaffeySilver Spring MD resident. Non-profit director. Past president of the Alliance and Board member of the Monocacy National Battlefield Foundation. Three times past president and board member of the Civil War Round Table of the District of Columbia. 


Dr. B. Franklin Cooling, co-author Mr. Lincoln's Forts, author, Jubal Early's Raid on Washington, and many other books about the battle of Fort Stevens and related subjects.  Professor of National Security Studies, Industrial College of the Armed Forces, National Defense University. 

Dr. Carolivia Herron, a frequent volunteer with the Alliance, she is an American writer of children's and adult literature (books include Nappy Hair and Always an Olivia), a scholar of African-American Judaica, and currently professor of epic studies at Howard University.  

Dr. Frank Smith, Founder and Director, African American Civil War Memorial and Museum, and former Member of the District Council, Washington DC.  In 2017, the Historical Society of Washington, D.C.  awarded its Visionary Historian Award to Dr. Smith.

2018 by Alliance to Preserve the Civil War Forts of Washington, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.